sponsored byIEEEACMThe International Conference for High Performance 
Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusLinkedInYouTubeFlickr

ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship


The ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Fellowship honors exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus is on high-performance computing applications, networking, storage, or large-scale data analysis using the most powerful computers that are currently available.  The award committee is selected by the two societies and includes past winners as well as leaders in the field.

The Fellowship reflects the two societies’ (ACM and IEEE-CS) long-standing commitment to workforce diversity. We encourage applications from women, minorities, international students, and all who contribute to diversity.


  • $5000 honorarium
  • Travel and registration to attend SC14 in New Orleans and be honored at the Thursday Awards Ceremony
  • Recognition with other HPC award winners on the ACM, IEEE-CS, and ACM SIGHPC websites

Applicants must be enrolled in a full-time PhD program at an accredited college or university and must meet the minimum scholarship requirements at their institution.  They are expected to have completed at least one year of study in their doctoral program, and to have at least one year remaining before graduation. Advisees of committee members are not eligible for the award, nor can committee members provide recommendations for candidates.  Previous winners are not eligible.

Fellowship recipients are selected based on:

  • Overall potential for research excellence
  • Degree to which technical interests align with those of the HPC community
  • Evidence of academic progress to-date, including presentations and publications
  • Recommendations by faculty advisor and (optionally) others
  • Evidence of a plan of study to enhance HPC-related skills
  • Demonstration of current and planned future use of HPC resources

Contact: hpc-fellowship-questions@info.supercomputing.org