sponsored byIEEEACMThe International Conference for High Performance 
Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis
FacebookTwitterGoogle PlusLinkedInYouTubeFlickr


This year's prestigious society awards have been chosen!
Read about each award and the awardee's bios in the SC14 Awards Session Brochure.

And don't forget to come to the SC14 awards ceremony on Thursday, November 20, 12:30-1:30 CT.

Each year, SC showcases not only the best and brightest stars of high-performance computing, but also its rising stars and those who have made a lasting impression.  SC Awards provide one way these individuals are recognized.  This page describes the various awards given each year at the SC Conference.

IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award

The Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award recognizes innovative contributions to HPC systems that best exemplify the creative spirit of Seymour Cray.  Nominations that recognize the design and engineering and intellectual leadership in creating innovative and successful HPC systems are especially solicited.  The award includes a $10,000 honorarium.  For more information, visit the IEEE-CS Seymour Cray Award page.

IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award

The Sidney Fernbach Memorial Award honors innovative uses of HPC in problem solving.  Nominations that recognize creation of widely used and innovative software packages, application software, and tools are especially solicited.  A certificate and a $2000 honorarium are given to the winner.  For more information, visit the IEEE-CS Sidney Fernbach Award page.

ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award

The Ken Kennedy Award recognizes substantial contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and substantial community service or mentoring contributions.  The award honors the remarkable research, service, and mentoring contributions of Ken Kennedy and includes a $5000 honorarium.  Information about the Ken Kennedy Award is available at: ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award page.

ACM Gordon Bell Prize

The Gordon Bell Prize is awarded each year to recognize outstanding achievement in high-performance computing. The award tracks the progress over time of parallel computing, with particular emphasis on rewarding innovation in applying high-performance computing to applications in science, engineering, and large-scale data analytics. Prizes may be awarded for peak performance or special achievements in scalability and time-to-solution on important science and engineering problems. The award is administered by ACM, and includes a $10,000 cash prize.  For more information, visit the ACM Gordon Bell Prize page.

ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael Memorial HPC Ph.D. Fellowship
In memory of George Michael, one of the founding fathers of the SC Conference series, this award honors exceptional PhD students throughout the world whose research focus is on high-performance computing applications, networking, storage, or large-scale data analysis using the most powerful computers that are currently available.  Fellowship winners will be selected based on overall potential for research excellence, the degree to which technical interests align with those of the HPC community, academic progress to date, recommendations by their advisors, and a demonstration of current and anticipated use of HPC resources. For more information, see the ACM/IEEE-CS George Michael HPC Fellowship page.

Best Paper

Each year, the SC Technical Papers Committee identifies one paper as the best paper from the Conference's Technical Program. The award will be announced at the SC14 Awards Ceremony.

Best Student Paper

Each year, the SC Technical Papers Committee identifies one paper as the best paper written primarily by a student or students and presented in the Conference's Technical Program. Papers must be identified as student papers when submitted to be eligible for this award. This award will be announced at the SC14 Awards Ceremony.

Best Poster

Each year, the SC Posters Committee identifies one poster as the best poster presented as part of the Conference's Technical Program. The award will be announced at the SC14 Awards Ceremony.

Test of Time Award

The “Test of Time” award recognizes a paper from a past conference that has deeply influenced the HPC discipline.  It is a mark of historical impact, and requires clear evidence that the paper has changed HPC trends. The award was originally presented at SC13, as part of the celebration of the SC 25th anniversary.  It is presented annually to a single paper, selected from the conference proceedings of 10-25 years ago. For more information, see the Test of Time Award page.

ACM Student Research Competition

SC hosts an ACM Student Research Competition as part of its research poster activities within the Technical Program.  Up to three awards are given in both undergraduate and graduate student categories. The award will be announced at the SC14 Awards Ceremony.  For more information about the ACM Student Research Competition at SC, including the rules for being eligible to participate in this competition, see the SC14 Posters page.

Important SC14 Information:
Web Submissions: https://submissions.supercomputing.org/
Email Contact: awards@info.supercomputing.org

SC14 Awards Co-Chairs:
Barbara Chapman (U Houston)
John Grosh (LLNL)

SC14 Test of Time Co-Chairs:
Kathy Yelick (LBNL) 
Ewing Lusk (Argonne National Laboratory)